For those who want to know everything.

What’s the difference between sherbet and sorbet?

What’s the difference between sherbet and sorbet?

 

As a server, people will inform you of their food allergies or food restrictions. When this happens it is now your responsibility to make sure that they do not consume anything that have told you they can not or should not.  With that being said it is important for you to know the differences between sherbet, sorbet and ice cream.  Here is a quick guide to help you.

 

Sorbet | Sorbetto

A frozen desert made from sweetened water flavored with fruit, wine and/or liquor. Alcohol, when used, lowers the freezing temperature which usually results in a softer texture.

 

Sorbet  is lactose, vegetarian and vegan friendly.

 

 

Sherbet | Charbet

A frozen desert made from sweetened water flavored with fruit, wine and/or liquor (same as sorbet), but sherbet also contains milk, cream, egg whites or gelatin.

Sherbet is never vegan or lactose intolerant friendly. Sherbet that contains gelatin is not vegetarian friendly because gelatin is made from cows, chicken, horse or pigs.  If the gelatin comes from pigs, the sherbet is also not fit for people eating Kosher foods.

 

Ice cream

A frozen desert made from dairy products (mild or cream), sugar and flavorings.

Ice cream is vegetarian friendly. It is not vegan or for those who are lactose intolerant.
Leave a Reply

Share an idea or tip
Don't wuss out, you'z my peeps!
About Me
Website: http://iamWaitress.com
Email: jennifer@iamWaitress.com